My Experience: Stone Town, Zanzibar

This trip started different unlike my other trips. I booked the hotel that I wanted to stay in while in Zanzibar on an online site. However, rather than booking with cancellation option (which I always do), I booked without the cancellation option. Which meant that if I did not go for the trip they would still deduct the amount from my card. I wouldn’t let that happen. Get charged for accommodation that I did not use, ah nope! Anyway, the planning for the trip started in August 2018 but trip date was in December 2018.

I was lucky enough to get an arrangement with a tours and travel agency to pay for my flight ticket in 3 installments. After completing the payment, getting issued the booking reference (temporary ticket) everything was set for my travel.

The flight took 2 hours from Nairobi with a stopover in Mombasa and finally to Zanzibar airport. Arriving at the airport, a friend who has her natural products business in Zanzibar, was kind enough to pick me up. After she dropped me off at the hotel in Stonetown, there was still some time for sightseeing. The kind staff at the hotel reception, recommended Forodhani Gardens. It took less than 10 minutes walk to get there. On the way, was the beautiful view of Indian Ocean, sunset and people enjoying their evening walk. The more I walked the more there was to see past the gardens and into the narrow streets. Since darkness was setting in, I did not go too far.

img_2740

img_2742

img_2741

img_2743

img_2744

Back to the gardens which had turned into the night market. Children were running up and down, some were diving off the cliff into the ocean, men and women were busy selling and buying food. The night had surely come to life. There were foods or snacks and drinks like Shawarma, Zanzibar pizza (which I ate most of the time when I went to the market), crepes, seafood, sugarcane juice and other soft drinks being sold. After enjoying my meal, I walked back to the hotel (FYI: It is safe for a tourist to walk alone in the dark while on the main streets on Stone Town, Zanzibar)

Image result for forodhani gardens night market
Photo credits: Trip Advisor New Zealand

ADVENTURE DAY 1: GETTING LOST IN STONETOWN & PRISON ISLAND

A new day had began and I had a list of the things I hoped to do while in Stonetown. The first thing to experience was to get lost in Stonetown’s streets. I wore my sneakers, light clothes and a backpack. I was ready to get to know what the culture filled town had to offer. If the thought of getting lost scares you, please start small. Get lost in an area that you will be able to get back to the familiar area. I started from the hotel to the money bureau exchange (thank you Google maps)!! However, from the bureau exchange into the narrow streets, I did not use google maps instead I used my gut feeling. Although I walked for hours, I got to see the treasures the town had. I saw The Swahili House, the Roman Catholic Church, found the former Slave Market, came across shops that sold crafts, clothes, paintings, spices; and the spice market. I managed to buy some spices and an Ankara trouser. After the long walk under the scotching sun I was more than ready to go back to the hotel.

img-20181212-wa0179

img-20181212-wa0206

img-20181212-wa0181

img-20181212-wa0183

img-20181212-wa0187

 

img-20181212-wa0215
View from the hotel rooftop

img-20181212-wa0216

img-20181212-wa0195

img-20181212-wa0241

 

img-20181212-wa0249

img-20181212-wa0236

img-20181212-wa0244

img-20181212-wa0242

img-20181212-wa0221

img-20181212-wa0245

img-20181212-wa0223

After getting more lost trying to find the hotel, I finally found it. In the reception, I found two couples (South African and Italian) who were planning to go to visit Changuu Prison Island together with a tour guide. Since it was on my list of places to go, I jumped on the opportunity to join them which was much cheaper than going alone. The prices at that time were: $70 per person if you are not part of a group, but if you are 5 pax or more it was $30 or less.

From the hotel, we walked to the shore of the Ocean which was 5 minutes or less, where we got the boat that was taking us to Prison Island. It took approximately 45 minutes or less to get to the island. Beautiful scenery of the vast water body, different islands afar and ships and small boats floating to various destinations. On the agenda was first to see the giant tortoises that inhabit the island, then see the former slave prison (slaves used to board on ships from there and be taken to the different parts of the world for work) and finally to snorkel to the nearby coral. Going with other people to the island is much more fun compared to if you go alone.

img-20181212-wa0172

img-20181212-wa0145

 

img-20181212-wa0144

 

img-20181212-wa0146
A view from the bridge leading
img-20181212-wa0164
On our way to find the oldest giant tortoise. It is close to 200 years old
img-20181212-wa0159
If you look closely you see a number 4 written in blue. The tortoise’s age is recorded on it’s shell and no that tortoise is not 4 years old.

img-20181212-wa0165

img-20181212-wa0154
The house that hosted the slave trader and some of the slaves who were kept there temporarily waiting to be sold to their new owners

img-20181212-wa0141

img-20181212-wa0139
The open door is the ladies washroom and on its right is the gents.

img-20181212-wa0134

img-20181212-wa0142

img-20181212-wa0133
Time for swimming while others snorkel away from the island
img-20181212-wa0171
View on our way back to the mainland

img-20181212-wa0120

img-20181212-wa0137
Beautiful
img-20181212-wa0113
Another beautiful scenery of the sunset

After a few hours of the activities we headed back to the hotel.  For dinner we went to one of the recommended local restaurants in Stonetown called Lukmaan Restaurant. img-20181212-wa0119

img-20181213-wa0000

ADVENTURE DAY 2: SAFARI BLUE

When I arrived in Zanzibar, my friend insisted that Safari Blue is an excursion that I had to do. She said that it was better to forgo other plans but not Safari Blue. Therefore, I spoke to my new friends that we traveled with the day before and they agreed. I used the same enthusiasm if not more to convince them.

In this excursion you get to experience a dhow ride to a sandbank and an island, swim in the ocean as you snorkel, climb a baobab (mabuyu) tree, eat some Swahili barbecue seafood and shop on the island.

We left the hotel at 8:00 since the excursion takes a whole day, drove for an hour until we arrived where we got on-board the dhow at Fumba. The beauty with these excursions is that you meet different people from different parts of the world, whom you get to learn more from about their own countries as you share about yours. I met people from different parts of Italy, Belgium, Poland and Germany. First stop was the sandbank, where the tour guides pitched a makeshift tent for shade from the hot sun and they carried a basket of fruits for us to eat. Unfortunately, it rained for half an hour or so but that did not stop anyone except a few from swimming in the ocean. When the rain stopped we swam some more and got on the dhow. We were later taken to the spot where we snorkeled. If you do not know how to swim, I urge you to learn if you are planning to visit the countries whose main source of tourism is the ocean or sea. It is not fair for you not to enjoy the sea life while others are. It was beautiful down below, with the different species of fish.

img_3019

img_3021

img_3023

img_3024

img_3032

img_3037img_3041

img_3045img_3059

Later we went to the island where we ate the Swahili barbecue seafood (lobster, octopus (calamari), chicken, fish, rice and chips). It was all delicious and in plenty. The activities that followed after was the shopping, climbing of the baobab tree and finally headed back to the dhow. From the island we were taken back to Fumba where we found our carriage 😉 awaiting us. It was already past 4pm but we had some time to sneak in one activity that I did not participate in, Jozani Forest. This is where the Zanzibar Sykes’ monkeys are found and other monkeys and species.

img_3140img_3141img_3145

img_3147img_3152

img_3149img_3173img_3199img_3203img_3207img_3209img_3210

Image result for jozani forest zanzibar
Photo credits: Safari Junkie
Image result for jozani forest zanzibar
Photo credits: Shadows of Africa Monkey’s at Jozani Forest

ADVENTURE DAY 3: HELPING OTHERS GET LOST IN ZANZIBAR

After a long day, yesterday we decided to have a slow day. I described to my new traveller friends on my adventure of getting lost the first day. They suggested that they would also love to experience the same. Therefore, I took them to the hidden gems I could remember and fortunate enough, we found other wonderful alleyways and an opening to the sea.

img_3575

img_3220

img_3219img_3226img_3276

img_3246img_3234img_3241img_3243img_3259img_3272

In the afternoon, some chose to go rest while I and another friend chose to find the Emerson Spice Hotel (recommended by a friend who had previously visited Zanzibar). We used Google maps since we were too tired to find it without using any technology. After following all instructions given by the Google maps lady, we got lost. The directions took us to the Zanzibar Coffee House Cafe. It’s a nice little cafe that if you are a coffee enthusiast, you should definitely step in and enjoy a cup of fresh brewed coffee. Anyway, after asking the locals for directions we managed to find it. Unfortunately, we were too early to sit in the restaurant upstairs so as to enjoy the views of Zanzibar. The staff however recommended the secret garden. Wow, wow, wow!! The green luscious intimate secret garden was magnificent. Although the air was humid, it was still a known secret that I believe all travellers should discover it.

img_3279img_3281img_3282img_3284img_3285img_3286

Later everyone joined us and we went to the gelato shop; Tamu Italian Ice cream. Yuuuuum yum yum!!!! The gelato was really good. I would advice you to go there when you are in Stonetown, Zanzibar. It is not far from Forodhani Gardens. It was a good treat to crown off my last night in Zanzibar.

img_3212img_3213img_3214

My trip had come to an end and I was not ready to go back home but my pocket was ready to retire. Stonetown is a beautiful town filled with Swahili culture, adventures in the ocean and wonderful friendly people willing to assist.

Tips for your travel to Zanzibar:

  1. Plan early since there are many places to visit in Zanzibar: Stonetown, Nungwi, Paje, Jambiani and many others.
  2. If you want to travel to nearby towns to explore, you can hire a scooter
  3. Carry enough money to explore the towns. It is cheaper experiencing the excursions in a group rather than alone. In addition, rather than getting a guide for excursions you can do on your own, like touring Stonetown’s narrow streets
  4. Travelling alone is not boring, it is fantastic. All you have to do is be open in meeting and interacting with friendly good strangers. Trust your instincts on this.

My apologies for posting this a year later. However, I hope the my adventure is helpful when planning your trip to Stone Town, Zanzibar.

Leave a comment